Hurts so good: Why I love Crossfit

Truly. That old John Mellencamp song should be the theme for every Crossfit WOD out there.

So…given that every day after my workout it takes me several minutes to breathe normally…that I sometimes have to talk myself into it for half a day before I go…that I can’t do any of the stuff at full speed or weight…and that I limp around for a good day or so after each one…why do I love it so?

First of all, BECAUSE it’s hard. There is no question that I’ve accomplished something when I get done. I FEEL like I’ve worked out and worked out hard.

But most of all…BECAUSE OF THE PEOPLE. Every single day, the kindness, support, and community of the people at Parkland Crossfit takes my breath away and brings me close to tears of gratitude. From the coach who knows me well and proposes mods in ways that aren’t embarrassing and helps me get through the workouts without killing myself or getting discouraged, to my classmates who root for me even if I AM only doing half of what they are. They are an inspiration…I want to be that strong, that encouraging, that helpful.

I’ve worked out alone for more years than I can count. I’ve loved doing my Firm videos, and time at the gym has been a time to zone and get into the endorphin “zen.” I’ve never really been part of anything like this, and I can’t believe how much I love it.

So thank you, Chris and Melissa Schwab, for putting Crossfit on my radar…and thank you, everyone at Parkland Crossfit, for making it such an amazing experience.

This is one fitness routine I can see myself following for the rest of my life, God willing.

This entry was posted in Crossfit. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hurts so good: Why I love Crossfit

  1. Susie says:

    That is awesome! And I totally agree.

  2. Betsy says:

    I love it too Linda and can’t wait to do a workout with you. Keep up the good work.

  3. joyweesemoll says:

    One of the regular participants in Readers’ Workouts does Crossfit. I thought you’d enjoy “meeting” her. Here’s her blog: http://www.spiritblog.net/

    You’re welcome to join us at Readers’ Workouts, too: http://www.joyweesemoll.com/2012/08/14/readers-workouts-august-14/

Leave a Reply

